Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Enter Seacrh Info to the Right
News & Press: Events

November 2018 Membership Meeting Highlights

Thursday, November 8, 2018  
Posted by: ECA
Share |

The ECA November Membership meeting was held on Wednesday, November 14, 2018 at Gene & Georgetti’s in Rosemont, Illinois.  The meeting featured the election of the 2019 Executive Committee, as well was an industry focused session, which featured a number of guest speakers who gave updates regarding Labor Management Trusts, Employee Assistance programming and affiliated association activities. 

Here is the listing of the newly elected members of the ECA 2019 Executive Committee:

Katie Canino, Canino Electric Company
William Cullen, Sharlen Electric Company
Kendra Dinkins, Taylor Electric Company
Robert Fimbianti, Linear Electric, Inc.
Daniel Fitzgibbons, Gibson Electric & Technology Solutions
Frank Gurtz, Gurtz Electric Company
Richard Jamerson, Jamerson & Bauwens Electrical Contractors, Inc.
Jerry McGlynn, McWilliams Electric Company, Inc.
Gary Misicka, Lyons Electric Company, Inc.
Eric Nixon, Maron Electric Company
Kevin O'Shea, Shamrock Electric Company, Inc.
Thomas Rivi, G & M Electrical Contractors Company
William Schult, Super Electric Construction Company
Nicholas Santoro, JMS Electric, Inc.

The Association thanks Greg Kuzmic, Interstate Electronics Company for his service as an Executive Committee member from 2013 - 2018.


The speakers and discussions included the following:

LMCCDr. John Donahue, LMCC Director and Steve Doty, LMCC Communications Director represented the Labor Management Cooperation Committee of Chicago (LMCC Chicago), which works to educate the industry about the benefits of utilizing electrical contractors signatory to Local Union #134 IBEW collective bargaining agreements and Local #134 IBEW electricians for any electrical construction project in Cook County, Illinois.  They discussed the “Powering Chicago” website and the “Ours to Protect” portal, as these are near completion.  They reviewed the Powering Chicago website content which includes the following:  Home page configuration, video content, five rotating stories, stories developed from discussions with the Chicago Department of Buildings Commissioner Judy Frydland, Chicago Department of Aviation Commissioner Jamie Rhee, among other areas, “Union Means,” “About Us,” “Industry Programming,” “What’s New” sections and “Find a Contractor” section.  They also reviewed the “Ours to Protect” portal which includes the following:  Username and Password needed for electricians and contractors to log into the site, videos, stories about the market, challenges in the market, “Marketing Insights” portion, “Facts You Should Know” section, “Important Union History” and “Get Involved” sections.  They anticipate that the website and portal will be launched, soon.

INTECHDr. John Donahue, Director of the IBEW/NECA Technical Institute (INTECH) and John Prendergast, INTECH Training Director work to maintain a consistent, yet growing knowledge base for the exceptional training programs, modules, courses, and on-line sessions that are conducted at INTECH in Alsip, Illinois through the direction of the Electrical Joint Apprenticeship and Training Trustee (EJATT).   They discussed the recent school expansion and interior construction.  The recent Apprentice Graduation Ceremony which had 400 in attendance was held at INTECH.  They congratulated the efforts of the EJATT Building Subcommittee for their due diligence with the consistent review / monitoring of the construction contracts and overall construction process.  

EAAli Novinger is Executive Director of the Electric Association (EA).  The EA consists of electrical contractors, suppliers, estimators, engineers, other facets of the industry. She discussed that the EA brings together all of these segments of the electrical construction industry and provides its members with formal educational opportunities, professional development, business services, among other areas.  She indicated that all ECA members were members of the EA.  She urged all to attend the EA Annual Conference on January 24 – 25, 2019 at Drury Lane Conference Center in Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois. 

ERSWilliam Heffernan is a co-founder of the Employee Resource Systems, Inc. (ERS). He discussed that the ERS is a national provider of integrated Employee/Member Assistance Programs (EAP/MAP), managed mental health care, comprehensive training and consultation services, work/life services and drug-free workplace policy development.  He emphasized that the ERS offers counseling, legal assistance consultation, financial assistance planning, child care / elder care options, among other areas.  

EITSean Madix is the Fund Administrator for the Electrical Insurance Trustees (EIT) Benefit Funds. Mr. Madix indicated that along with the Management Trustees and the Local Union #134 IBEW Trustees, he works to administer the plans to provide health and welfare benefits based on the terms of the negotiated collective bargaining agreements.  He noted that Pension Plan #2 was valued at $1,737,149,210.00 and funded at 103.2% and Pension Plan #5 was valued at $2,263,400,900.00.  Also, EIT is re-enrolling participants into Target Date Funds in December 2018.  He reviewed clock hour trends from 2001 to present.  Electronic reporting will soon be mandatory; the fund office is to relocate to Alsip, Illinois in the near future.  Also, if any firm has Workers’ Compensation claims to please notify EIT, as soon as possible.

We congratulate our contractor members who have been elected to serve on the ECA 2019 Executive Committee!  We thank our presenters for offering their time and expertise for a successful informational session!

Pictured from left to right are:
Steve Doty, LMCC Communications Director,
Ali Novinger, Electric Association Executive Director,
John Prendergast, INTECH Training Coordinator,
Sean Madix, EIT Benefit Funds Director,
Dr. John Donahue, INTECH Training Director / LMCC Director and
William Heffernan, co-founder of ERS, Inc.

Pictured above from left to right at the top of photo are:
Steve Doty, LMCC Communications Director and
Dr. John Donahue, INTECH Training Director / LMCC Director

Pictured above is John Prendergast, INTECH Training Coordinator during his presentation.

Pictured is Ali Novinger, Electric Association Executive Director

Pictured above is William Heffernan, co-founder of ERS, Inc. as he began his presentation.

Pictured above is Sean Madix, EIT Benefit Funds Director as he addressed the members.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal